Guy Looking Thru Binoculars With a Live Deer Near Him Funny
-
Binoculars and Deer Hunting The other thread started me to thinking.
If you are deer hunting (with a scoped rifle) and you see a deer that you want to look at, how many on here actually look through their binoculars first vs. just looking at the deer through the scope?
Last edited by Duck cutter; 08-16-2017 at 09:39 PM.
Houndsmen are born, not made
Originally Posted by 2thDoc
-
By the time you switch from binocs to scope the deer could be gone. Just something else to lug around.
-
my thinking as well
Originally Posted by Sportin' Woodies
Houndsmen are born, not made
Originally Posted by 2thDoc
-
I carry them, but usually if I have to use them it's a deer I'm going to pass anyway. If it's one of the deer on my hit list I usually know it as soon as I see him
"They are who we thought they were"
You can dress a fat chick up, but you cant fix stupid
-
I've looked at almost every deer I've ever shot through binos first. Takes a lot less movement to look at them through them than raising a rifle.
-
I've got a nice pair of Steiner's but they see more use during turkey season than deer season. Only time I really use them for deer hunting is when I'm in a cutover. Like VG said, if it's a deer I plan to shoot I don't fool around with them
Houndsmen are born, not made
Originally Posted by 2thDoc
-
When you see Joe Hammer walking around your place, don't forget you are pointing a loaded rifle at him when you are looking at him through that scope. I say remember this, so when you wake up in the hospital, getting said rifle surgically removed from your rectum, you'll know what happened.
Last edited by Bownut; 08-17-2017 at 05:37 AM.
-
I hardly take my rifle to the woods anymore. If I do it's to kill a doe out of the power line. With that said I always have my binoculars. That's why I just got a badlands bino case.
-
Always carry my binos for watching deer I won't be shooting. Much easier and subtler for looking.
-
The problem a lot of people have with this scenario is the binos are better quality than the scope they are using. They can see the deer in lower light conditions with the binos and then can't find the deer in their scope.
-
If you're hunting a stand that you can see more than 100 yards you owe it to yourself to have a good pair of binoculars. Even then a good pair will help you see deer before you see them with the naked eye.
It's alot less movement but I was also taught I only point a loaded rifle at something once I had identified it as a target.
Last edited by uga_dawg; 08-17-2017 at 06:22 AM.
-
My binos are for last light only hunting ,make sure i 100% sure i seeing what i think im seeing ,good scope will handle 90 % of your seeing in day light hunting ,
-
I pretty much look at all deer through binos before I pick up the rifle, unless it's an obvious big deer that stepped out in bright daylight.
-
I was alway taught to only point a gun at something I intended to shoot, not scout out. Using a rifle scope is how dumbasses accidentally shoot people.
Yeah, but do you consider a dog to be a filthy animal? I wouldn't go so far as to call a dog filthy but they're definitely dirty. But, a dog's got personality. Personality goes a long way.
You might take out a dozen before they drag you from your home and skull fuck you to death. Marsh Chicken 6/21/2013
-
Exactly. Binos are for identifying your target.
Scope is used to kill it.
Originally Posted by Saltydog235
-
Only time I go to my rifle first is when a deer steps out and it's a "oh shit, there his is" moment. Other than that, I'm going binos first.
Member of the Tenth Legion Since 2004
-
oddly enough, I have opinions on this matter.
First one being, I can pick up my rifle and NOT shoot you. I have this crazy thing called a brain. Now, if you dont have one, please dont pick up your rifle to see what something is. Come to think of it, I've never seen a person that looked like a deer...or vice versa.
Anywho, I like to look thru binoculars at stuff. I dont rifle hunt much, but I certainly carry them when I do. IMO, SIZE MATTERS. I dont need a 12x bino to lug around. I like compact. I know there is "good glass" out there but i'm not trying to win any awards. I'm just trying to see shit up close. and...I dont take care of shit so I dont deserve expensive binos. I like the ones swamp rat posted in some thread here lately. 7x. I have some compact 8x40s that are decent vortex's i think. If its too dark to see out of binos or scope, its time to go home anyway.
Ugh. Stupid people piss me off.
-
I don't go without them. Valuable tool imo for deer hunting. I sit a lot of stands on fields and such so scanning a very large area with a rifle/scope isn't extremely practical.
I can think of 1 time I wished I'd picked up the rifle first as a deer crossed a narrow lane I was sitting. I didn't realize it was "him" until it was too late. Low light and spitting rain just produced poor visibility overall and I missed an opportunity. Didn't deter me from still carrying my binocs to that stand though.
-
I used to never tote binoculars and always look through my scope first to identify target down range, but nowadays it is a lot easier to pick up those binoculars to take a look across a bean field than to shoulder my rifle. You mean to tell me you have never looked through your scope at a group of does to pick out the biggest one? Everybody has an opinion, but gun safety is taught, learned and respected, you know where your target will most likely be and what is beyond that down range. It's common sense, but in today's time and age it sure seems slim pickings.
"run and gun guide service"
-
2th, the voice of reason
Originally Posted by 2thDoc
Houndsmen are born, not made
Originally Posted by 2thDoc
Source: https://scducks.com/forum/showthread.php?175598-Binoculars-and-Deer-Hunting
0 Response to "Guy Looking Thru Binoculars With a Live Deer Near Him Funny"
Post a Comment